Untitled 11

Almab D1-dalua.jpg
Almab D1-scooot.jpg
Almab D1-bassihaller.jpg
Almab D1-sector9.jpg
East D1-2.jpg
GYC 3-1.jpg
GYC 4-8.jpg
Lally Luge 09.jpg
Mischo Teutonia Final.jpg
Sponsor Corner.jpg
East D2-7.jpg
Lally Nats.jpg
Luis Lins flying at the 2007 Almabtrieb IGSA World Championships

Beginning today we will start a new series of short interviews called 20 Questions. Each week we will highlight a different top racer or influential person in the downhill scene. Be sure to check back each Wednesday to see who is the latest to answer the 20 Questions.

Luis Lins is our first featured skater. He is from Brazil but has been living in Switzerland for the past several years. Luis has finished in the Top Ten of the IGSA World Cup Series the past three seasons. In 2005 he wound up fourth overall. We're pleased to present Luis Lins.

Luis at home in Zurich, Switzerland

20 Questions: Luis Lins br-t

Q: What sports do you compete in?
A: Downhill Skateboarding.

Q: How long have you been riding and racing?
A: I began riding in 1999. As for racing, that’s a good question. It’s been a long time… since 2002.

Q: What was your coolest moment in the sport?
A: Every race when I meet my friends after a year being far apart and we have a great time.

Q: What races do you plan to compete in this year?
A: Darnetal, Peyragudes, Almabtrieb, Thalgau, Maryhill, Fair Cape and Kogelburg

Q: What are your goals for the 2008 season?
A: I already achieved my goal when I got my new Helmet Sponsor, Risch Aerohelmets.

Q: What is your favorite event?
A: Almabtrieb 2004. The real Almabtrieb! It was a sick coarse in Bavaria.

Q: What kind of equipment did you use?
A: Board: Fibretec, Wheels: Seismic, Trucks: Kahalani, Bearings: Bones and SKF, Helmet: Risch Aerohelmet, Leathers: Dainese, Gloves: Dainese, GPS: Edge Garmin, Archos 405 Cam.

Q: Do you have any sponsors?
A: Fibretec Boards, Seismic Wheels, Kahalani Trucks, and Risch Aerohelmets

Q: Who are your favorite racers?
A: Aki von Glasow, Frederik Lindström, Thiago Tebet, and Renato Ralado.

Q: Where do you live?
A: I’m from Brazil but I’ve lived in Switzerland since 2005.

Lins battling at Almabtrieb 2007, Jungholz, Germany

Q: When is your birthday?
A: May 21, 1975

Q: Are you married or do you have a girlfriend?
A: I’m not married yet and finished my last relationship month ago.

Q: What’s your occupation?

A: I’m an Internet/Graphic Designer. I also work for Fibertec in Switzerland doing the lamination of skateboards. We manufacture Slalom, Downhill and Cruiser boards.

Q: What are your hobbies?
A: Riding slalom in the city and the Brazillian “Capoeira “ martial arts fighting.

Q: Do you have a website, MySpace and/or facebook?
A: I have a Portfolio and a Flickr photo page.

Q: Do you have any pets?
A: No.

Q: What’s your favorite vacation spot?
A: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil for sure.

Q: What’s your favorite food?
A: Sushi and Pizza

Q: What’s your favorite music?
A: Ooohh I like a lot of stuff like Reggae, Ragga, and Dub. Also the White Stripes, Queens of Stones Age, B Negão, Beastie Boys and AsianDubFoundation.

Q: Do you have any heroes?
A: My Mother who taught me to be a good person and believe in my dreams.

podium eastbourne
On the podium in 2nd with Erik Lundberg and Bassi Haller at the 2007 GoFast! Speed Days, Eastbourne, England